Hey, im new to programming and i am using Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days (http://newdata.box.sk/bx/c/) to help me, but when i make the code for the "hello world" i dont no how to compile it and link it, im using crimson editor and i downloaded Borland C++ compiler and think i installed it but it said about making cfg files in the bin directory and i dont know how to do that, if this makes sense to anyone can you please help lol? Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'm not familiar with Crimson Editor, but if you've got the BC 5.5 I've used that command-line compiler. If you're more comfortable with starting in a GUI IDE, I'd recommend looking into Code::Blocks (and get a recent nightly build).

lol i probly havnt looked into this enough, whats a GUI IDE

GUI IDE - or follow the previous link.

lol i probly havnt looked into this enough, whats a GUI IDE

Integrated Development Environment.
Crimson editor is an IDE, but Codeblocks is a much better one, IMHO.

I use it with the g++ compiler which is much superior to that Borland antique.
This is especially important to someone who is just learning. The g++ is more strict and gives a good error output. Sometimes the thing is down right informative!

Integrated Development Environment.
Crimson editor is an IDE, but Codeblocks is a much better one, IMHO.

I use it with the g++ compiler which is much superior to that Borland antique.
This is especially important to someone who is just learning. The g++ is more strict and gives a good error output. Sometimes the thing is down right informative!

kk and are these programmes free?

If you can follow a link, your question is answered yesterday.

kk and are these programmes free?