cout<<"Enter your string:"<<endl;
	cin>>inputString;
	//int stringLength=inputString.length();

int stringLength=strlen(inputString); 
    inputString=new char[stringLength];
	cout<<stringLength<<endl;

for(int i=0; i<stringLength; i++)
{
	if(inputString[i]>='a' && inputString[i]<='z')
		{
			if (inputString[i] != ' ')
				{
					inputString[i]=toupper(inputString[i]);
					cout<<inputString[i];
				}
			else
				cout<<inputString[i];
		}
	else
	cout<<inputString[i];
}

cout<<endl;
}

First it takes only the first word, and second I feel there's a big mess with the dynamic arrays!

yes I'm a beginner :$ any help pointing out my mistakes?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

do you want your code to read in string by string or the whole word??

do you want your code to read in string by string or the whole word??

word by word!
i'm not sure!

it should allow the user to input any string and output it all in uppercase

and I SHOULD use dynamic arrays :S

The problem is that you need to know how long the string is before you can allocate memory for it, and you need to input the string and store it somewhere before you can get the length... :confused: That's why the string class is so great, it does all of that for you by growing dynamically. If you don't want to use the string class, you have to simulate the same behavior by reading and allocating a bit at a time:

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>

char *getString();

int main()
{
  char *p;

while ((p = getString()) != 0) {
    std::cout << p << '\n';
    delete[] p;
  }
}

char *getString()
{
  char *result = 0;
  int size = 0;
  char ch;

while (std::cin.get(ch) && ch != '\n') {
    ++size;

// Don't forget to add 1 for the null character
    char *temp = new char[size + 1];

if (result != 0)
      std::strcpy(temp, result);

temp[size - 1] = ch;
    temp[size] = '\0';

// Free the old memory and reset to the new
    delete[] result;
    result = temp;
  }

return result;
}