Does anybody out there know of any VB.Net tutorials regarding pulling and adding records out of a sql database?

I am trying to figure this out on my own, but I just need an example program to show me how to do it.

I have figured out how to connect the database, but I am still trying to figure out how to pull information into editable fields. Then also how to save the information once it has changed.

I am using sql server express 2005 and Visual Studio 2005.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I tried to figure out the code shown in those two links, but I am new to the whole interacting with SQL databases.

I have figured out how to use the table adapters and how to pull up the information, but I still cannot figure out the statements required to update any changes to the database. Does anybody know how to do it using the database adapters?

I understand that this is easy for most of you, but I cannot wrap my head around it.

Also, if anyone can suggest some books or sites on building sql databases or writing sql queries I would like to gather all of the info I can on the subject.

Again thank you for any help you can provide.

you just make database which table is Id, FirstName, LastName and age like what i description in that snippet and you just copied that code.
there are none configuration or something using adapter control.

'a database with 4 column (Id[primary key],FirstName,LastName,Age)
'3 button (cmdSave,cmdEdit,cmdDelete)
'4 text box (txtId,txtFirstName,txtLastName,txtAge).
'1 datagrid (named dgStudent)

I have gotten your code to work, but I have a another question. Is it possible to make changes directly to the data grid view and have the changes be saved?

yes, it possible to change directly. but i never tried it before.
you can use searching tool in this forum and search for similiar thread, there are many thread to change directly to the dg view.