I gotta write a program that reads a file and determines a customers priority number. The program then builds a priority queue using hte priority number and prints the list of people waiting. Here is what I have so far

int main() {
    int myValue[3][3];

myValue[0][0] = 53,000;
    myValue[0][1] = 5;
    myValue[0][2] = 1;

myValue[1][0] = 89,000;
    myValue[1][1] = 3;
    myValue[1][2] = 2;

myValue[2][0] = 93,000;
    myValue[3][1] = 3;
    myValue[3][2] = 3;

return 0;
}

The formula to get the priority number is A/1000 + B - C. A, B, C are shown above. Anyone give me a little push to where I should be going with this. I am a horrible programmer but I do understand the code at times.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Greetings HollywoodTimms,

Good to see you have a head-start on this. It dawned on me that I was un-aware of what you were asking specifically. I did realise you are trying to calculate A/1000 + B - C, though I was wonder what A, B, and C were. Are they according to the following?

A: myValue[0]
B: myValue[1]
C: myValue[2]

As i defines 0 thru 2. If so you could take into a simple manner of arithmetic in the C language, for example:

int total;

Thankfully there this mathematical syntax in C:

total = (myValue[0][0]/1000) + (myValue[0][1] - myValue[0][2]);

Keep in mind calling the parenthesis can help define what calculations are grouped and those which are not.

For example: 1 + 2 - 3 on your calculator may show 0 on your calculator as it performs (1+2) - (3), instead of (1) + (2-3). Either way performs 0, but what if you had 100 / 10 + 5. You must take into consideration that it may perform like so:

(100 / 10) + 5 = 15
100 / (10 + 5) = 6 2/3

Thats why in this case I used parenthesis around A/1000. Nextly, you will probably want to go through all of your myValue[] indices, stating the fact you will need to use a for loop.

The for loop