Hi,

Could anyone please check my sample code? I am a beginner in C++. This code is for file comparison. Whenever I run it, the compiling result is always "Usage: compiles <file1> <file2>".
I think something is wrong. Please give me some suggestions how to go through the code.

Best Regards,
zawpai

Contributors
Replies
Views
8 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by mitrmkar

Please post your code here instead of giving it as an attachment. I'm not going to open a zip file of 1.04 MB, that should contain code. 1.04 MB of text is rather much.

So just post your cpp file(s) here and be sure to use [code=cpp] //code here [/code] tags

Try printing the arguments the program receives, I think you are simply not calling it correctly (maybe e.g. due to spaces in file paths)

if (argc != 3)
{
    cout << "Usage: compfiles <file1> <file2>\n";
    for(int ii = 0; ii < argc; ++ ii)
    {
        cout << "Arg# " << ii << " = " << argv[ii] << "\n";
    }
return 1;
}

Hi niek_e,

The following is my sample code. Please check for me. Actually, I have already saved the two files in the same folder before doing the compiling my codes.

/*
	Create a file comparison utility.
*/

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
	register int i;
	//int numread;

unsigned char buf1[1024], buf2[1024];

if (argc != 3)
	{
		return 1;
	}

ifstream f1(argv[1], ios::in | ios::binary);

if(!f1)
	{
		cout << "Can't open first file.\n";
		return 1;
	}

ifstream f2(argv[2], ios::in | ios::binary);

if (!f2)
	{
		cout << "Can't open second file.\n";
		return 1;
	}

cout << "Comparing files.....\n";

do
	{
		f1.read((char *) buf1, sizeof buf1);
		f2.read((char *) buf2, sizeof buf2);

if (f1.gcount() != f2.gcount())
		{
			cout << "Files are of differing sizes.\n";
			f1.close();
			f2.close();
			return 0;
		}

// compare contents of buffers
		for (i=0; i< f1.gcount(); i++)
		{
			if(buf1[i] != buf2[i])
			{
				cout << "Files differ.\n";
				f1.close();