Hi,

I am a newbie to Java and I want some help with designing a simple search engine in java. The program would read from a text file and would display the results. If I searched for some keyword say "star" it should show me something like the following:

Star found
Star belongs to Planets

Here Planet is the Topic and star is the sub-topic. Please help me with this. I started of with string search but I am not able to proceed.

Sample Text File:
1. Planet
bvdbkdbvjkbdjkdbdjbvjdbjdbvdjbvk
1.a star
fkjnfkjnbfjknbfjknfjnbf

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Post your code within [code] [/code] tags and specific questions regarding the parts that are troubling you.

Also consider that your sample text file does not give any hint of a hierarchical relationship between those two entries.

I think I recall my professor saying--

"The way search engines work is through Hash-indexing. All you have to do to search is Hash-it-up!"

Or something along those lines.

It might be wise to look up HashMap or HashSet to see how you can locate certain values through indexing, though I've never tried this class myself.

Alternatives would result in using a variety of maps, but you'd most likely have to result to linear searches or other search algorithms that aren't as efficient.

Check to see if the Hash idea will suit your needs. I'll try to experiment on this myself too.

The code below can be used in conjunction with any .txt file or you can use the one I created that should be attached. Input hash.txt so you can see how this program works.

The way it works - much like a search engine or index. Basically the moment it runs into a value that has been tokenized it will use it as a key. If duplicate keys are encountered then the old value that's associated with the key is appended to the new value via String addition. Now you can retrieve the information of both lines if the same text appears in those lines.