hi,
i have to do image read and write in Turbo C.
i am very new to C.
so please help me out as to how to do these operations and provide some sample code if you have any..
i have a vague idea that it can be read as .dat file and stored in a 2d array.
:confused:

thanks..

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Turbo C?

I didn't know anybody still used this old horse!
Anyway, I found something in my archives and removed the dust! This reads a character file, you want to read a binary file. The end of file marker will be different. Well partner, it's a start!

/*******************************   fgetc.c  ********************************
**  Experiments with disk file I/O:
**     int fgetc(FILE *stream)
**  Get a character from the device indicated by stream  ( set by fopen() ).
**  Written in Turbo C by vegaseat 6/23/88
****************************************************************************/

#include <stdio.h>       /* defines FILE and EOF */

#define AMOUNT  5        /* amount of data items */
#define FALSE   0
#define TRUE    1

int display_file(void);

void main(void)
{
  if (display_file() == FALSE)
    puts("\n  Couldn't open data file!");
  printf("\n\n  Press any key to go on .... "); 
  getchar();  /* wait */
}

int display_file(void)  /* read an ASCII file and display on screen */
{
  int  ch;  /* use int since EOF = -1 */
  char filename[25];
  FILE *fptr;

clrscr();
  printf("\n  Enter name of ASCII file : ");
  gets(filename);
  fptr = fopen(filename,"r");  /* open file for disk reading */

if (fptr == 0)
    return (FALSE);            /* file opening unsuccessful */

while ((ch = fgetc(fptr)) != EOF)  /* read entire file and display */
    putch(ch);                       /* it on the screen */

fclose(fptr);                      /* don't forget to close the file! */
  return (TRUE);                     /* file succesfully scanned */
}

>Well partner, it's a start!
If by start you mean poor quality code that doesn't address the problem at all, yes.