Hey guys I'm new to C#.NET but I'm trying to create my own Form using my own GUI code. However I'm unsure which project I need when using Visual Studio 2008. A normal person would assume that selecting Windows Forms Application would be correct. However you'd be wrong it would appear that you can't create your own code for the GUI since it incorperates a GUI builder. I'd sooner learn the hard way than have the GUI Builder do it for you. Any ideas has to what I can do?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You can create any project type and put in your windows forms by referencing System.Windows.Forms.dll

You can create any project type and put in your windows forms by referencing System.Windows.Forms.dll

Right based on what you said I've gone for an ASP.net application, that gives me the best of both worlds. However the import for System.windows isn't there.

Yes, you can, but logically why user in web-based application interacts with windows forms?! it sounds not logic at all, instead interacts with web forms.

Ok well Ive tried the following

private Label lb;

however i get the following error:

Error 1 The type or namespace name 'Windows' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?) C:\Users\John\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Project1\Project1\Class1.cs 5 7 Project1

Error 2 The type or namespace name 'Label' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?) C:\Users\John\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\Project1\Project1\Class1.cs 13 17 Project1

In the references though I've added the link to WindowsFormsInteragtion, and added the using System.Windows.Forms;
Any ideas?

WindowsFormsInteragtion??
No just add reference to System.Windows.Forms and write it in Using section.
but just question, did u add this dll for creating labels?!!! HTML and ASP.NET has label control, you don't need to add Windows.Forms to create control exists in asp.net!!