Hi i am a web developer i used to create site using php..i have little knowledge on java(only basic school level knowledge)..but now i want to develop software for one of the NGO which is working for helping blind students..that i have decided to build the software in JAVA...the system is going to be used for managing there donation system like storing the donors information and categorize them in different category..and they want to retrieve the information quickly when needed..so they want to stop duplication of data..

we have a team with 4 members(they too new to java)

My Time Limit is 15 days for learning and 15 days for developing the project..

So as a New Bee I have some Questions

1. which language is good JAVA or JSP(Have a plan to implement the system in interenet in future not now)
  2. what are things(language,tools) i have to start to learn..
  3. Some one suggested me DB2 as a RDBMS is it good ?...i have some knowledge in MySql
  4. Is it possible to finish the project in 1 month or how much time approximatly it will take..

Ok thank you and waiting for your reply

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Welcome to forum.

As for your project, good luck you will need it.
For the questions

1. If you do not know difference between Java and JSP then there is lot of ground to cover
  2. You have to learn Java to certain extend to be able to start adding other enhancements to it and combine with other technologies,as for tools there are many free and commercial, however I think you are more likely to be interested to free stuff so NetBeans, Eclipse or JCreator LE are tools you looking for
  3. You can stay with MySQL, no problem there
  4. Yes and No, all depends on the requirements which you failed to provide (the small of problem does not count)

Thanks ..i thought JSP is a server side scripting language using in web development..Am i right..? My question is which will be more efficient and useful for this project...