this question has been burning in my mind for a long time,
which is more popular and superior
java or .net
what are the future prospects of java and .net
I'm not sure whether i can post such a question here cos i'm new to daniweb.
looking forward for replys.
thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

One is a language (and some APIs) and the other is a platform specification.

It's like comparing a car you drive to work with the road you take to work.
The question seems meaningless to me.

Neither depends on the other for their continued success (or otherwise). You're free to use one without giving a hoot about the other.

> which is more popular and superior
For those old enough to remember, VHS was popular, and Betamax was superior.
Both are now dead - that's technological evolution for you.

Remember that when deciding what to nail your colours to at the beginning of your career. Because it's very unlikely you'll be using the same at the end of your career 50-odd years from now.

I'm sorry but which one is a language and which is a platform.I thought both were independent programing languages .
Can you elaborate on my mistake.

Well you have
VB.Net, VC++.Net etc etc
Right?

To tell you somethings to start off : firstly you are not the first person and certainly not the last one to be bruding over this question. Secondly this question can be satisfactorily answered by a person having enough expertise and expierience in both of the langauges in question, I doubt you would find many of them here, or anywhere else for that matter. Moreover I feel that such questions can be answered more appropriately by the concerned person himself. Having said this, I just provide you with points where you can start thinking over and comparing these two platforms.