I'm new to datasets, and trying to update a SQL Server database with one. I'm having trouble understanding how to correctly write the dataset info to the server db and preserve the relationship keys.

When I write to the main table in the server database, it will assign the new entry a new ID for the primary key. But as I am writing to several child tables as well (that have a field that references the main ID), how do I make sure I record the correct ID for these tables? After all, I do not know the ID until the server gives it to me.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Look when you treat with dataset you treat with database (I don't know if you've to set Enforce relationship property to true or it's set by default) so you can update it then reflect these changes to the physical database.

I'm not sure I understand the response, but I don't think I explained my problem very clearly, so I'll start over:

I am trying to add new entries to the SQL Server database from a dataset. The database has a main table with a primary key as the ID, then several child tables referenced to the main table via this ID.

When I start to add new entries to the database, the first thing I do is add a new entry to the main table. The database will then assign this entry a new ID. To finish the job I have to add some entries to the child tables, but I need to make sure to give these tables the new ID so everything is tied together properly. How do I read this new ID, or otherwise ensure integrity? Are you saying somehow the dataset and database figure this out automatically?

My first answer is concept :) not for special case, once you load the database tables into your dataset, forget the physical database, and when you add entry to the primary table, you add it into dataset, so get the last entry key from the main table by anyway from dataset, then use it to add entries in child tables, and when you finish your work on the dataset, reflect that changes.

I think I understand.