im fairly new to vb 6 and doing a course which requires a project.
in my project i need to save a name, age, and form of a user in a random access file when a button is pressed which i have done, and then when another button is pressed, display the name for each record in a list box which i have also managed.

the next bit is selecting a name from the list box, clicking another button(load user info) and displaying the records name, age and form in seperate text boxes.

this is my code so far for saving and loading into the list box

(module)
Public Type recvar
    Name As String * 10
    age As Integer
    Form As String * 2
End Type

Option Explicit
Dim users As recvar, position As Integer, position2 As Integer

Private Sub cmdSave_Click()
    Open App.Path & "\userfile.txt" For Random As #1 Len = Len(users)
            users.Name = frmMain.txtSaveNme.Text
            users.age = frmMain.txtSaveAge.Text
            users.Form = frmMain.txtFormSave.Text
        Put #1, position2 + 1, users
    Close #1

position2 = position2 + 1
    txtSaveNme.Text = ""
    txtSaveAge.Text = ""
    txtFormSave.Text = ""
End Sub

Private Sub cmdLoad_Click()
    position = 1
        Do While Not EOF(1)
            Get #1, position, users
                listUsers.AddItem (users.Name)
                position = position + 1
        Loop
    Close #1

End Sub

then this is where i get stuck and don't know how get the record
number form the selected item in the list box (listUsers):

Private Sub cmdLaodInfo_Click()
        Get #1,  , users
            frmMain.txtLoadNme.Text = users.Name
            frmMain.txtLoadAge.Text = users.age
            frmMain.txtFormLoad.Text = users.Form
    Close #1

End Sub

please help !!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

dim getdata as string

getdata = Listbox1.list(1)

will return the data or string on position 1

or if you want to detect which data has been clicked use this

dim getpos as integer

getpos = listbox1.listindex