I'm new to this editor, i used Dev-Cpp, and i heard this is a better tool to program with. Problem is that Code::blocks wont compile this:

#include <stream.h>

main ()
{
   cout << "Hello world!\n";
}

I switched to Code::blocks mainly because i'm using linux and i cannot (read: don't want to) complicate with Dev-Cpp. i did manage to run it using wine but i still cannot run exe's produced by Dev-Cpp. i think they can also be run using wine but here comes another problem - im using live session :D
i know i should install the system like normal man but that is not question, i need to know how can i make Code::Blocks compile that thing above

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Should be iostream.h and you should be using std::cout Chris

ive learnt c in wrong way...using compilers that compile everything makes you forget standard ways

Also it should be int main and return 0 :)

Chris

commented: His posts were quite helpful, yeah :D +1

yeah i konw that :D thanks

#include <iostream.h>

int main ()
{
    std::cout << "Welcome to C++ programming!\n";
    return 0;
}

wont compile on Code::Block on ubuntu Intrepid Ibex
says:
3: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

Press ENTER to coutinue.

i've just installed it so maybe it needs some configuring, but i heard that it already uses GCC compiler and has everything it needs to work well
http://www.codeblocks.org/features

#include <iostream>

ArkM this is the C forum....really should be using printf() so yer lol, but still i thought it was iostream.h in C?

then again I think im just going crazy xD

Oh yes but have a look at this main body ;)

Well, "Problem is that Code::blocks wont compile this". What happens? Where are compiler diagnostics?

i know this should have been C++ but when i started i didnt have a clue whether it was c or c++ compiler (I could have posted a new thread but it seemed aggressive)
Diagnostics:
3: Syntax error: "(" unexpected

Press ENTER to coutinue.