Hello mates,
i am pretty new to this forum.. i am a midrange c++ programmer.
if i have to create an IDE in c++ that involves basic drawing tools, what should i learn and where should i start??
is it a big task?
can anyone explain me or direct me to a concept that explains this?
thank you :)

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

>>is it a big task?
Yes -- Microsoft has been developing theirs for some 20 years now.

>>can anyone explain me or direct me to a concept that explains this?
Just buy the educational version (I assume you are a student, so you are eligible for huge discounts), install, and learn to use VC++ 2008. This will give you all the features you are looking for -- plus a lot you don't need for your project.

I don't know of a free IDE that contains drawing tools.

hi ancient dragon.. thanks:)
so it is a big task after all..:-O
but my stupid professors wont accept it :D
you know, they want us to complete a project within a week..
here's what they say, ;)
1. You have to develop an IDE (Very simple) with drawing tools to create a pattern.
2. IDE should allow you to specify the dimension of brick. (i.e in the form of rectangular) For example: 400 height * 400 width
3. IDE should allow you to use all possible tools to draw shapes (Bezier curves, Line, and arcs) on rectangular base to get a desired pattern piece.
4. Finally, the created piece should be stored with accurate dimension in a file and later if we want then it must be reconstructed and displayed in the IDE.

is there a way that i could atleast get a grip of the basics..
like how to create an ide in c++.. what are the things that i need and what part of functions should i know??
is there anything that you recommend me to learn (for the basics in creating ide)?? just the basic part??
thanks for the reply :)

hi ancient dragon.. thanks:)
so it is a big task after all..:-O
but my stupid professors wont accept it :D
you know, they want us to complete a project within a week..
here's what they say, ;)