Hi- I want to use a sentinel value (-1) to end the loop of a program after the user has entered all of their data. However, how can I output inbetween each instance of the loop? Then, at the end, how can I will have an average of all entered data?

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

are you talking about something like this?

BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(System.in));
int x;
int count = 0;
int i;

do
{
   System.out.println("enter a number");
   i = Integer.parseInt(br.readLine());
   x = x + i;
   count ++;
 }
  while(i != -1);
  int b = x / count;
  System.out.println("Average is: " + b);

Don't exactly take my word for it, I'm doing this off the top of my head.

Sorry, I'm new to java. Let me make it a little more clear.

How can I have a user input 2 numbers. The first number entered will be divided by the first to find the average for those two numbers.

After the user enters a -1 it will end and display the Complete average for all the numbers. ie (average1 + average2 + average3 / 3) <--depending on how many numbers they enter.

Hope this is more clear.

So, you've laid out your entire algorithm.

Now all YOU have to do is translate that to Java. Noone here is going to do your homework for you, but if you get stuck after making a good start we'll be happy to give you a hand in completing it.

All you would have to do is change the code I gave you little bit...

Well I spent a few hours on it and got it to compile and ask for the correct inputs. However, the program asks for miles driven and gallons used and it should display the miles per gallon. But it keeps displaying 0 as the result, unless the numbered entered is the same for both, ie 5miles, 5gallons, the result displayed is 1. Here is a part of the code where I think the problem is. If you could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it. I don't expect anyone to do my homework for me.

//loop
	while (tankCounter <= numOftanks)
	{

// first user input