Hi,

I'm pretty new to java and I'm not asking for anyone to do any coding for me. I just need pointing in the right direction.

How do I go about printing out the objects of an array sorted alphabetically by name without altering the original array. I know I can't use the .sort method to achieve this and I don't want to make a new temp array to do this either.

I know I have to use the compareTo method somewhere....

I'm just confused

Any help appreciated
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

More details are needed.

For example, what type of goal are you trying to achieve? Finding a low-running time way of printing your array or just getting the job done?

The Iterative/Recursive approach

T, V, E, D, A, B

T is found
V is found, V should be printed after T
E is found, E should be printed before T
D is found, D should be printed before T, before E
A is found, A should be printed before T, before E, before D
B is found, B should be printed before T, before E, before D but after A

Once all of the indexes in the array are reached, recursively print the results correctly.

I have no idea why you want to do this! What's wrong with sorting a copy? Remember that the copy array, like the original, is simply an array of references (like pointers) to the Strings; you won't copy the actual Strings unless you go out of your way so to do.

More details are needed.

For example, what type of goal are you trying to achieve? Finding a low-running time way of printing your array or just getting the job done?

The Iterative/Recursive approach

T, V, E, D, A, B

T is found
V is found, V should be printed after T
E is found, E should be printed before T
D is found, D should be printed before T, before E
A is found, A should be printed before T, before E, before D
B is found, B should be printed before T, before E, before D but after A

Once all of the indexes in the array are reached, recursively print the results correctly.

Thanks for your quick response.