I'm kinda new to python, it really reminds me of Qbasic =\ ANYway lol.
I'm looking to do something extra in a class I'm taking. We were to make a budget program. That wasn't the hard part, what im looking to do is be able to save each entry of the budget as a unique entry in a file (text, CSV, etc) but i really dont know how to go about it.

an example would be:
loop = 0
while loop == 0:
expenseName = raw_input('What was the name of the expense? ')
expenseValue = int(raw_input('What was the value of the expense?')
choice = raw_input('Would you like to add another expense?')
if choice.....

now what i want to be able to do is save each of these as a single entry and then have the ability to edit them later. with a delete function. so it would end up being either in this script itself or exported to the said file. either way would be fine.

Im sure this is a newbie question but i don't know where to start with it. Any help would be amazing.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

What's the problem here? Writing to a file or writing a unique value?

Here's how I write to a file:

import tempfile

# The path for storing any files with randomly generated (temp) names.
path = 'data'
tempfile.tempdir = path

# Generates a random filename not already in use.
filename = tempfile.mktemp()

# Writes the given text to the file.
def write(text=""):
    fileHandle = open(filename, 'a')
    fileHandle.write(text)
    fileHandle.close()

Note that the 'a' stands for 'append' -- this means adding on to the bottom of the file, and can be replaced with 'w' if you want to overwrite whatever is there. Also, 'r' stands for 'read' (only).

Of course, if you want, you can name the file whatever you like instead of generating a random name for it. I personally don't know anything about deleting within a file once you've written to it, although I know it's possible.