Could I make two programs, but with one icon/startup so that when you click the icon, it runs both programs?

Thats my first question.

My other question is for something else, how can I make something delete files? Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

First Question:
Yes you can do that. You would need to use the sub main procedure. The sub main is usually used for things like a splash screen, but you could use it to start two seperate threads.

Second Question:
You would need to import file IO, but yes you can delete a file or files.

Chester

Can you describe the "sub-main procedure" to me? Sorry, I'm a noob.

Can you describe the "sub-main procedure" to me? Sorry, I'm a noob.

Right Click on your project and the click Add New Item
Click Module
Name your Module
Open the new Module
Between the Module Header and Footer, type Sub Main() and enter
Now enter your code.

On the Solution Explorer right click and click on your settings, under startup, click Sub Main.

Hope this helps.

Chester

Thanks, but one more thing..."Now enter your code" which code is that? Like the code that opens both of them or what? Thanks.

Thanks, but one more thing..."Now enter your code" which code is that? Like the code that opens both of them or what? Thanks.

Yes, it would be the code to launch each program. I actually think what he was trying to do is to have your project load two forms, instead of two exe's. You could just as easily have 1 of your exe's launch your other EXE on form load.

You could just as easily have 1 of your exe's launch your other EXE on form load.

So how would I do this method?

Since you are in VB.Net The System.Diagnostics namespace exposes a Process class:

Dim myProcess As Process = System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("c:\somepath\somefile.exe")