Hey all

I've been developing in c# for a few months now, but to my shame have only recently started looking at threads. And now that I do look at them, I'm having issues...

Here's a sample of my code:

private void cmdNext_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
        {
            Thread t = new Thread(new ThreadStart(obj.makeGraph));
            t.Start();

}

public void makeGraph()
        {
            if ((Boolean)radioProduct.IsChecked)
            {
            }

The code builds perfectly, but when I run it I get an "InvalidOperationException was unhandled" when I try to run the if statement. Apparently "The calling thread cannot access this object because another thread owns it." Any idea of where I'm going wrong, or what I can do to fix it?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You didn't post enough code to indicate what the problem is here. Please post enough code where we can compile and see the error.

Anyway i'm not sure what your code is calling but when it comes to controls and updating the GUI that must be done on the main thread. Threads should not access controls on the GUI without calling .Invoke() to synchronize the threads to prevent concurrency issues. You may way to pass the value of your controls in to the thread before you start it. Also be sure to call Thread.Sleep() to sleep your main thread after your start a thread to be sure it has time to initialize before the method finishes. If your method finishes before the thread initializes it could potentially get garbage collected and lead to intermittent errors.

t.Start();
      Thread.Sleep(1000); //give the thread time to start

Sorry I gave so little code. Hope this helps some

private void cmdNext_Click(object sender, RoutedEventArgs e)
        {
            this.Cursor = Cursors.Wait;
            TrendControl.SelectedIndex = 1;
            TrendReport obj = new TrendReport();
            Thread t = new Thread(new ThreadStart(obj.makeGraph));

t.Start();