Hi,

im a student taking information tech. and im a newbie in this forum...
i need help on the machine problem that my prof gave me...
please help me i cant figure out what codes do i use..:confused:

the number 5 is user's input...
the output is this...

Input a Number: 5
a
bc
cde
defg
efghi

please help me...
thanks... in advance...:)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

please help me i cant figure out what codes do i use..

I'm sure you can, when you do some effort:
http://www.daniweb.com/forums/announcement8-2.html

please help me...

Sure, don't take this wrong but I would like to see first that you've at least tried to solve it.

thanks sir...
sorry for my first post...
i tried to figure it out last tuesday...
but i guess idont have still the knowledge to get it...:'(

#include <cstdlib>
#include <iostream>
#include <string.h>
using namespace std;

char z[50];
char x[26]={'A','B','C','D','E','F','G','H','I','J','K','L','M','N','O','P','Q','R','S','T','U','V','W','X','Y','Z'};
char y[26]={'a','b','c','d','e','f','g','h','i','j','k','l','m','n','o','p','q','r','s','t','u','v','w','x','y','z'};
int a=0,b=0,g=0;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    system("cls");
	cout<<"Input Number: ";
	cin>>g;
	for (;g>0;g--)
{
    	 a=+g;
	 b=a;
	cout<<endl<<y[a]<<y[b]<<z;
}	
    system("PAUSE");
    return EXIT_SUCCESS;
}

thanks for the concern sir...:)

Well, hard-coding the whole alphabet in your program is possible, but there's another way, without needing to hard-code the whole alphabet in your program, let me describe it:

Input a Number: 5
a
bc
cde
defg
efghi

The above sample run of the program makes me think about the fact that you'll need a char variable for holding the 'current' letter.
First: the current letter is 'a', then it's 'b', after that it becomes 'c', and so on.
When you take this approach, you only need to display alphabet characters, starting from the current letter each time.