Hi!

I have been programming in FreeBasic for 2 years now, and decided to switch to C++ a few weeks ago. This means that I'm not completely new to programming. I downloaded Visual C++ Express Edition 2008, and have already read all 12 chapters of C++ Beginners Guide (well the last few chapters had things I have never used before but I think I understood it).

Now that I understand the fundamentals, I would like to start learning how graphics work. In FreeBasic, all I had to do was include the graphics library and simple operations would work, I could even write a beautiful Snake game:

screenres 1024, 768, 24
line (x1, y1) - (x2, y2), rgba(r, g, b, a), BF
bload "image.bmp", image
put (x1, y1), image, trans

I couldn't find a library as simple as this one, although I understand that OpenGl and Allegro are faster and much better. My questions is which one should I learn to use? I will be writing games and Allegro is a gaming library so it includes sound too, but still OpenGl may offer more graphics options.

Also, if anyone could please give a link to a tutorial in any of these libraries as good as the Beginners Guide, I would really appreciate that. So far all the OpenGL tutorials I have found use glaux.h, which I understand isn't used any more. Until then I will study the Allegro lessons found here, although these aren't very much and I think OpenGl would do better, at least in the beginning.
Thanks in advance,
-Tusike

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Go with the more low level and very capable openGL.

Thanks for the quick reply! This is exactly what I was looking for, the third link also let's me download glaux. Seems strange that google didn't show any place to do that...

-Tusike

ur welcome :) , once ur comfortable with this , u can also upgrade ur self to DIRECTX programming . That will take you to the epicenter of gaming .

u can also upgrade ur self to DIRECTX programming

"upgrade" might not be the correct choice of words.

Don't use OpenGL