I am new to programming in C++. I have a bit of experience in Python and ActionScript3. I decided to pick up C++ so I downloaded Dev-C++ complier.

I tried to run the following code but it doesn't seem to do anything. I complied the code, and it did not show any errors. I went to run it and a window appeared really quickly on the screen. It then closed itself after 0.5 seconds. I got the code from cPlusPlus.com.

Do I have to configure a setting or something? I remember when I was working with Python, I had to reconfigure some sort of path directory for Windows.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
  cout << "Hello World!";
  return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

If you ran it by double clicking the .exe file, then it worked just as it should. The command window opened, displayed the output, then closed.

Try opening a command window, navigate to where the .exe is, then run the program from the command prompt.

I am new to programming in C++. I have a bit of experience in Python and ActionScript3. I decided to pick up C++ so I downloaded Dev-C++ complier.

I tried to run the following code but it doesn't seem to do anything. I complied the code, and it did not show any errors. I went to run it and a window appeared really quickly on the screen. It then closed itself after 0.5 seconds. I got the code from cPlusPlus.com.

Do I have to configure a setting or something? I remember when I was working with Python, I had to reconfigure some sort of path directory for Windows.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
  cout << "Hello World!";
  return 0;
}

Your code is correct. The program will run then immediately disappear when the program is finished, which will happen in the blink of an eye.

http://www.dreamincode.net/forums/showtopic30581.htm