I'm a beginner in C++. I saw \b and \r in a program source code. I've seen \n and I know its purpose. But why do we use \r and \b in C++? Please clear my doubt.
Thank You.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

"\n" for new line
"\b" for a backspace, means if u print it, cursor will print and come back 1 character. For example.... cout<<"hello\bHi"; will print "HellHi". because after printing Hello, compiler found a \b escape sequence. so it came 1 character back (at 'o' of Hello) and stat printing Hi from o of Hello..... so u got HellHi instead of HelloHi.

'\r' is used for carriage return to come 1 line back or in start of line.

HOPE I FIXED. MARK THIS THREAD SOLVED AND DO RATE ME

commented: rep - beggar! -1

I'm a beginner in C++. I saw \b and \r in a program source code. I've seen \n and I know its purpose. But why do we use \r and \b in C++? Please clear my doubt.
Thank You.

Those codes are called backslash codes (or character escape sequences), there's a quite logical reason for why they exist:
What for example when you want to have a string containing a newline or backspace character? Of course there's no way to input such a character directly via your keyboard (you can't for example just press the backspace key on your keyboard while you're inputting your code in your text-editor because the only thing it will do is erase the character which is to the left of your text cursor), so we use those codes to let the compiler know which character we want. \b and \n are not the only backslash codes supported by C++, there are some more of them, which you can view by clicking this link.

Post by jonsca and tux4life have divulged all the information related to this topic.But would like to add some from my side.

Apart from the printable characters (character which can be seen on a output screen) we make use of several other operations when working on any text.