Hello. I read about the daniweb api competition thing and I have an idea of what I want to create. I have never done anything webby before (aside from using dreamweaver to make websites) and I think its about time that I did! I am hoping that it is possible for me to use the daniweb api to make a kind of editor in c++. I want to use c++ because it is what I am most familiar in, if it is overly complicated in c++ please tell me what language it wouldn't be complicated in. Anyways I just want to know how to use a web api in c++.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I just finished posting a program on a web site found here that does just that for a different web site. The only thing you could probably use from my program is how to use sockets to access the api from DaniWeb. I have not gone tough DaniWeb's api yet to find out how it works.

It would be nice if we could edit the snippet code and/or description at some later date.

I have never been able to understand sockets... I have tried a couple of tutorials, but understanding them always seems to elude me. Could you maybe point me to a decent tutorial for them, and maybe explain exactly what they are? Thanks.

I use this socket library witten by someone else. It's pretty simple to use.

That is helpful, but I prefer to be able to make something work from scratch before using a library to make it easier. I'm sure I could do what I want with that library, but I wouldn't understand what it was that I was doing. I would prefer an explanation (or a link to an explanation) of what sockets are and how to use them. For example in the first example on that site you sent me they have a line like this:

s.SendLine("GET / HTTP/1.0");

I think I understand that its sending "GET / HTTP/1.0" to the server that the socket is linked to, but what does "GET / HTTP/1.0" mean? How did they know that that is what they wanted sent?

what does "GET / HTTP/1.0" mean?