Hi everyone,

I am new to java and I wrote a program that does the following (using Scanner):
Name:
Last Name:

When the user presses Y, he/she can add more information. Then in the end, I want to print something like:
The participants are: Soni Smith (30), Alma Johnson (24) ...
So, I wrote a class called "ParticipantList" that sets the values to private variables, returns their values and so on.
In the main class, I want to create an array (or list/vector) of the ParticipantList class to store multiple values:

ParticipantList[] myArray = new ParticipantList[5];
String name, lastName;
double age;

int i = 0;
char answer = 'Y';
while (answer == 'Y')
{
   Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
   System.out.print("Name: ");
   name = input.nextLine();
   System.out.print("Last Name: ");
   lastName = input.nextLine();
   System.out.print("Age: ");
   age = input.nextDouble();

myArray[i] = new ParticipantList(name, lastName, age);
   i = i + 1;
}

But, what if the user types more than 5 names? 5 was the size of the Array. And what if the user types less than 5 names? In this case I get an error as well. So, how can I make it dynamic so that the array only ends when the user types 'N'? Can I create an ArrayList of my class ParticipantList? How should I declare it?

I thank you for any help you could give me!

Regards,

-mike

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

ArrayList (and this looks familiar. Did you post this same question on Sun? Yes.)

Hi, I actually did. Is there anything wrong with that?