Hello,
I am new to shell scripting and am having some trouble writing a script that will work the way I want it to. I am good at the one liners, but when I try to string them together I get errors.

I have a ftp server that will trigger shell scripts for uploads. What I have accomplished is basic copys from one server to another file server. What I am trying to do is to create a new directory (on the remote server) named with the current date and time, and copy the new uploaded file to it.

If I run the mkdir part by itself it works fine. I just cant seem to get the file to copy into this newly created directory.

This is what I have tried:
(The words in brackets are the tokens for dir path and filename.)

mkdir /Volumes/Jobs-2008/Incoming_JOBS/`date +%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M`
cp <FILE> /Volumes/Jobs-2008/Incoming_JOBS/`date +%Y-%m-%d`/<FILENAME>

Any pointers would be appreciated
thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hello,

If I run the mkdir part by itself it works fine. I just cant seem to get the file to copy into this newly created directory.

This is what I have tried:
(The words in brackets are the tokens for dir path and filename.)

mkdir /Volumes/Jobs-2008/Incoming_JOBS/`date +%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M`
cp <FILE> /Volumes/Jobs-2008/Incoming_JOBS/`date +%Y-%m-%d`/<FILENAME>

Any pointers would be appreciated
thanks.

First of all, the names of a newly created directory and the copy target directory are different (the former does have hours ind minutes, and the latter does not).
Next, you should not invoke 'date' twice - there's always a risk that the second invocation returns different result.
Therefore:

DATE=`date ... ... ...`
PATH="/Volumes/.../.../.../"${DATE}
mkdir ${PATH}
cp <FILE> ${PATH}/<FILENAME>

First of all, the names of a newly created directory and the copy target directory are different (the former does have hours ind minutes, and the latter does not).