Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to c# and .Net, and i was wondering if you can give me some guidance on a specific problem that i have

I'm currently trying to use Jxta.NET: a .net wrapper for JXTA-C, which is the C implementation of the JXTA protocol.

So, i went on their website, downloaded the sources (since no binaries are provided), converted the included VS project from VS 6 to VS 2008, and managed to compile the whole library.

This resulted in 2 dll files:
- JxtaNET.dll : The .net wrapper, which use jxta.dll.
- jxta.dll : The JXTA-C shared library, written in C.

Then i created a new C# project, added a reference to the "JxtaNet.dll", and compiled some basic JXTA application. Everything went fine, until a tried to run it.

As soon as JxtaNet tries to load the underlying jxta.dll with a "DllImport" statement, an exception is raised:

An unhandled exception of type 'System.DllNotFoundException' occurred in JxtaNET.dll.
Additional information: Unable to load DLL 'jxta.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

The problem is, that the specified dll should be perfectly retrievable. My path variable is up to date, and i've also tried to copy the corresponding dll (jxta.dll) in my system32 folder and in the current working directory when launching the app, but nothing works... and i'm out of ideas.

I suspect that the dll i've compiled is somehow buggy, but i've no idea how to check what's gone wrong. Do have you any tips to solve this? Any help would be the most welcome.

Thanks,

M. H.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Have you tried executing the application outside of the debugger? If that fixes it (I doubt it) then shut the visual studio hosting process off for the project. The hosting process tends to screw up more than it helps.

As for the JxtaNET.dll you can use RedGate's reflector to decompile the assembly and take a peek at how it is attempting to load the DLL. That would be where I would start.