Frederick2 189 Posting Whiz

This is my first VB.NET post as I'm mainly a C/C++ and PowerBASIC developer. I'm trying to figure out how to pass a struct like so as a function parameter to/from a C/C++ or PowerBASIC dll using PInvoke of course in VB.NET. The struct in C looks like this...

struct MAXTransItem   //whatever...
{
 int     iItemNumber;                  //4 bytes
 char    szItemDescription[36];  //36 bytes
 double  dblCost;                       //8 bytes
};

This is just test code to see how to do it. I included an asciz null terminated char string buffer in the struct just because I knew that would be the most difficult. As you can see, that buffer is 36 bytes, and the whole struct would have a fixed memory footprint of 48 bytes.

Here is the whole dll code which just has one test function that I wish to access from VB.NET...

#include <string.h>

struct MAXTransItem   //whatever...
{
 int     iItemNumber;
 char    szItemDescription[36];
 double  dblCost;
};

extern "C" __declspec(dllexport) int __stdcall ProcessTrans(int, MAXTransItem&);

int __stdcall ProcessTrans(int iQuantity, MAXTransItem& mti)
{
 mti.iItemNumber=37;
 strcpy(mti.szItemDescription,"Genuine Ash Axe Handles");
 mti.dblCost=iQuantity*6.95;

return true;
}

If you are not familiar with C++ the 2nd parameter is a reference parameter, i.e.,

MAXTransItem&

meaning the address of an allocated MAXTransItem struct must be passed in. I've been working for quite some time at this and am pretty well stuck. However, just today I found a reference to something which might work in Francesco Balena's book "Programming Microsoft Visual Basic.NET" published by Microsoft Press around 2002 or so. He stated that this is VB.NET's closest approximation of a fixed length string as part of a Structure...

Structure
  Dim zipcode As Microsoft.VisualBasic.Compatibility.VB6.FixedLengthString

Sub New(.....)
    zipcode=New Microsoft.VisualBasic.Compatibility.VB6.FixedLengthString(36)
  End Sub

End Structure