Hello everyone! I am new to Java so this may be a very easy question.

I am trying to write a program and display just the remainder after two numbers have been divided. Here is where i am:

import java.util.Scanner;
public class Midterm1
{
public static void main( String[] args )
{

Scanner input = new Scanner( System.in );// starts scanner

int input1;// user inputed number 1
int input2;// user inputed number 2
int answer;
System.out.print( "Enter input1: "); //prompt
input1 = input.nextInt(); // read number from user

System.out.print( "Enter input2: "); //prompt
input2 = input.nextInt(); // read number from user
answer = input1 % input2;

if( input1 % input2 == 0)
System.out.println( "No Remainder" );

if( input1 % input2 != 0)
System.out.printf( "%s%d\n", "The Remainder is:", answer);

}
}

For some reason instead of displaying the remainder it is displaying "input1".

Thank you for you help!

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

On my computer it seems to be working fine. You should generally use the print command instead of printf -- it is much easier to read. Basically you just include whatever pieces you want and put them together with + signs:

System.out.print("The Remainder is: " + answer + "\n");

You should know that there are 2 methods you can use to do this -- print and println. println is a shortcut to writing a print method and then adding a "\n" at the end. For instance, the following 2 are equivalent:

System.out.print("hi\n");
System.out.println("hi");

Also, in general you should use code tags with your code. I suspect that your code may be giving you issues because of a printf problem.

The program compiles and runs fine but the answer it is returning at the end is wrong. Example: If i input 2 for the variable input1 and 3 for variable input2 the answer should be 66667 becasue 2/3=.6666667. So it should return the remainder 66667..... right? When I run the program with those numbers it returns the number 2. ????