hi, i found this site by accident and am giving it a go for some help needed. I am new to linux and am using Debian Lenny at the moment. I am finding that a lot of my tasks can be made a lot simpler and quicker if i just create a simple script. The problem is i need to know how to write a script. I have a simple idea of a task that i would like to automate with a script:

1. mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbdisk
2. rsync -av /mnt/usbdisk/content*.mpg /mpgfiles --progress
3. Wait for the rsync to finish - perhaps show a progress bar
4. When finished chown admin.joe all /mpgfiles/content*.mpg
5. Then chmod 755 all /mpgfiles/content*.mpg
6. rsync -av /mpgfiles/content*.mpg to a remote storage server --progress
7. Display a counter while rsync is in progress
8. after rsync finishes,umount /mnt/usbdisk
9. End

I found a tutorial on this website which I will go through, and I am willing to put in as much effort as is required to learn if someone is willing to teach me and start me off in this simple script. I think it to be in has to be in bash.

Many many thanks in advance.

Copa.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The thing is...If you can execute the line in a bash terminal then you can include it in a bash shell script

bash.sh

#! /bin/sh

...your steps go here

exit 0

then make the bash shell script executable with chmod +x bash.sh

For example your shell script with the first line could be

bash.sh

#! /bin/sh

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbdisk

exit 0

No no ... it cannot be that simple :)
OK I will commence with the lines that I enter on the CLI ... and build this from there ...
what about points 3 and 7 ?
the rsyncing to be completed before moving to the next point ... will the script wait for the rsyncing to be completed before running the next command ???

I will try it out in any case :)

Many thanks...

Copa.

The thing is...If you can execute the line in a bash terminal then you can include it in a bash shell script

bash.sh

#! /bin/sh

...your steps go here

exit 0