Hello to everyone,

I am new to this forum as I am new to Java.

I would like to know if anyone has come up with a method that helps in learning the huge collection of classes of the Java API.

I know that question is not easy to answer. I just wanted to know how others think about this subject.

Thanks a lot for all your answers!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

The ONLY way is through extensive experience using them.
I doubt anyone knows every method and field in every class of even the core API and knows its correct usage.
And if such a person exists no doubt that knowledge is purely academic and he has no clue as to how to actually apply it to real world situations.

The ONLY way is through extensive experience using them.
I doubt anyone knows every method and field in every class of even the core API and knows its correct usage.
And if such a person exists no doubt that knowledge is purely academic and he has no clue as to how to actually apply it to real world situations.

100% agreed. Make sure you learn concepts such as inheritance, polymorphism, interfaces, etc first - otherwise many of the methods in the Java API will not make much sense. I recommend either taking a course on Java or getting a decent beginner's book.

The API is there for you to read it, not learn it by heart.

As long you know how to call methods with the right number and type of arguments and put the return value inside the right type, you are ok.

Of course that doesn't mean that for every single method you need to look at the API. With extensive use some of the methods you learn them. But If you want to do something different, you don't have to remember everything, just where to find the method that you want.

And I don't believe that anyone knows the entire API even if it is the core java. If such person existed, he wouldn't know nothing about programming, because he would have wasted all his time in learning methods by heart instead of using them.