Hi Guys (and gals),

Thanks for taking the time to read this, hope someone can help.

I've been tasked with developing an anti-virus scanner as part of a university assignment. I've written all the signature matching code, which works fine, and the software can scan through a directory and find .exe files, checking them against the signature database.

The issue I have is a virus can infect any COM exectuable. Is there anyway of detecting if a file is a COM exectuable from within C?

As a student I'm not expecting a complete answer, but any pointers in the right direction would be brilliant. Searching for .exe's alone is fine, but I'd love to take it that step further.

I also appreciate that some people may worry the code is being used for malicious use, I assure you if that were the case I'd be posting this in an assembly language forum instead... C is far too restrictive to write an effective virus.

Thanks in advance for any pointers / help, would genuinely appreciate it.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

um, search the filename string for a ".com" extension? yes?

and it's pretty clear that you're trying to make some sort of malicious software. not a virus, obviously, because you clearly don't have the talent, but some sort of disruptive program nonetheless.

and FTR, your defense is laughable. viruses aren't written in assembly, you silly person.

um, search the filename string for a ".com" extension? yes?

and it's pretty clear that you're trying to make some sort of malicious software. not a virus, obviously, because you clearly don't have the talent, but some sort of disruptive program nonetheless.

But could a COM exectuable not be renamed to have a different file extension? I'm basically looking for a way of determining, from the contents of a file, whether or not the file is executable (An executable file being a potential carrier of malicious code).