I am just beginning to learn how to program. I'm using the "Beginning C++ Game Programming" book written by Michael Dawson. One of the programs in the book isn't working out like it should. Would this be the forum I use to get some advice on what I might be doing wrong?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

This is a forum for help with C or C++ programming. There is an announcement or two at the top of it.

Alright, I just wanted to make sure.

The book has me write a code that will display certain gaming stats. The goal of this section is to teach me about variables. Here is a copy of the code that I used.

// Game Stats
// Demonstrates declaring and initializing variables

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int score;
    double distance;
    char playAgain;
    bool shieldsUp;

short lives, aliensKilled;

score = 0;
    distance = 1200.76;
    playAgain = 'y';
    shieldsUp = true;
    lives = 3;
    aliensKilled = 10;

double engineTemp = 6572.89;

cout << "\nScore: "    << score << endl;
    cout << "Distance: "    << distance << endl;
    cout << "Play again? "    << playAgain << endl;
    //skipping shieldsUp since you don't generally print Boolean values
    cout << "lives: "    << lives << endl;
    cout << "Aliens Killed: "    << aliensKilled << endl;
    cout << "Engine Temperature: "   << engineTemp << endl;

int fuel;
    cout << "\nHow much fuel is left? ";
    cin >> fuel;
    cout << "Fuel: " << fuel << endl;

typedef unsigned short int ushort;
    ushort bonus = 10;
    cout << "\nBonus: " << bonus << endl;

cout << "Press the enter key to exit";
    cin.ignore(std::cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1);

return 0;
}