Hi

I am a novice in Shell Scripting but wanna learn it as soon as possible as it is such a powerful language.

I already have a script created(by a senior fellow) and I can run the .sh file simply by command ./xxxx.sh
Now I have created my own script with my name yyyy.sh but I am not able to run it with the command ./yyyy.sh and I get the following error :

./yyyy.sh: Command not found.

I have also set the rights as 777 still I can't run it.

Am I messing up with the path?

Please guide me as it would be really simple for you guys to figure out.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Hmm I might be wrong but inst it chmod 775 ?

In addition to the executable permissions, you need the shbang first line: #!/bin/sh

try by adding all these option
step 1:
first know where is shell interpreter by type in command prompt which bash (which is command ) is show the you interpreter
step 2:
add #! /step 1 output at the first line
step 3:
after save and exit from script
execute this command chmod +x your script name
step 4:
then ./your script name

which bash gives me /usr/usc/bin/bash
and I use #!/bin/bash as my first line but it still doesn't work that way.

Do I need to do something specific for the first time when I execute a script, is there something like an executable in Unix?

The #!path-to-interpreter in the first line, plus setting the executable bits with chmod is the equivalent of an executable.
What follows the "#!" is the exact and full path to the interpreter. The bash interpreter is usually /bin/bash, so the line would usually be #!/bin/bash You can check that by chanting ls /bin/bash . If the response is "/bin/bash" then use the line as specified. If the response is "/bin/bash: No such file" or something similar, then chant which bash and put the response in the shbang line which would then look like #!/usr/usc/bin/bash

Hmm. For instance, do this:
create a file named 'tryme' in the current directory
in that file, place these lines:

#!/bin/sh