hi,
Im just a novice in shell scripting,can you help me out;
all inbound files will now have timestamp.
the timestamp will be get from a server,specifically on a Moveit server.
any help will do..
thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Sonja,

I am really not sure of what you are trying to ask. What is a "Moveit server". Are you referring to the modified date vs the creation date?

Hi rch1231,
Thanks for the response.I need a shell script to append a timestamp to all inbound files.I have a shell script but modifications will be done to append timestamp to all inbound files.
see this..

timestamp=`date +"%Y%m%d.%H%M"
  # Archive File
       echo "Archiving $File."
       mv $FullPath/$FileName $ArchDir/${FileName}.${timestamp}
       RetCode=$?
       if [ $RetCode -ne 0 ]
       then
          echo "Not enough permission to move the file $FileName."
          mv $ParamTmp $ParamFile
          cd -
          exit 1
       else
          echo "Was able to successfully archive the file $FileName."
       fi

Is it correct,that I already append a timestamp to the files.?
thanks,

1) You should use the code-tags as required by DaniWeb policy. If you do (and assuming I indented as your code was indented orginally), it would look like this. Much nicer, yes?

timestamp=`date +"%Y%m%d.%H%M"
# Archive File
echo "Archiving $File."
mv $FullPath/$FileName $ArchDir/${FileName}.${timestamp}
RetCode=$?
if [ $RetCode -ne 0 ]
then
  echo "Not enough permission to move the file $FileName."
  mv $ParamTmp $ParamFile
  cd -
  exit 1
else
  echo "Was able to successfully archive the file $FileName."
fi

2) There appear to be some errors in your code, which may be because you didn't use the code-tags (??) for instance the timestamp= line is missing the closing back-tick. P.S. If you are using ksh or bash, you are better doing this:

timestamp=$(date +"%Y%m%d.%H%M")