Hello All, this is my first post here, I was a novice Pascal and C programmer back in the DOS days, now I am taking a C++ class based on "Programming - Principles and Practices Using C++" by Bjarne Stroustrup. In the book he gives an example in which he is explaining about "Tokens"... I have pared that down to the bare bones and I am comparing it to an example from Wikipedia. I have made these two programs functionally equivalent.

I have two main questions: 1) What do you call these? They are not really "Tokens", that is just a term that Mr. Stroustrup came up with as a teaching concept according to my instructor.

This first program is a modified version of one of the examples from the book:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
class person 
{
public:
    string name;
    int age;
    person(string name_str, int age_int)
        :name (name_str), age(age_int) { }
};
int main()
{
    char ch;
    person t1("Calvin", 30);
    person t2("Hobbes", 20);
    cout << t1.name << ": " << t1.age << endl;
    cout << t2.name << ": " << t2.age << endl;

cin >> ch;
    return 0;
}

This one is an example taken from Wikipedia about "Classes":

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
class person
{
public:
  string name;
  int age;
};
int main ()
{
  char ch;
  person a, b;
  a.name = "Calvin";
  b.name = "Hobbes";
  a.age = 30;
  b.age = 20;
  cout << a.name << ": " << a.age << endl;
  cout << b.name << ": " << b.age << endl;
  cin >> ch;
  return 0;
}

2) My second question is: when or why would we want to use each? It seems the first one, the "Token" one (for lack of a better term) is more work than the one that is from the "Classes" example.

Again, I would like to know how to more accurately refer to these as well as when and why to use each.

Thank you so much in advance.
Gary

ps - this is a super-nice forum, the best I have seen!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies