yes, there's an area of Java I'm almost a complete novice in (so far, I'm going full steam ahead :cheesy: ).

I've the following code to filter out non-numeric input from a JTextField (which is meant to contain a timeout interval in minutes, that's why).

private void dumpNonNumericInput(KeyEvent e) {
        char input = e.getKeyChar();
        String oldText = ((JTextField)e.getSource()).getText();
        if (input != KeyEvent.VK_BACK_SPACE && input != KeyEvent.VK_DELETE &&
            (input < '0' || input > '9')) {
            JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(this, "Numeric input required",
                                          "Input error",
                                          JOptionPane.ERROR_MESSAGE);
            e.consume();
            ((JTextField)e.getSource()).setText(oldText);

}
    }

This method works like a charm, that's not the problem.
The problem is that is I remove the error message popup (just the showMessageDialog command) the method no longer removes the faulty input either.
I THINK it's something to do with Swing thread timing, but I'm not sure.
Neither do I know how to cure this, which is more important at the moment as I'd rather not have that popup appear every time someone makes a typo.

I could probably subclass JTextField but that may be more trouble than it's worth.

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Can you do it with a try catch statement?

A better alternative would be to disable text input altogether (call setEditable(false) on the text field. This deals with the problem of people putting in garbage input. Then all you need to do is use regular expression on the character that was input. Then use reg exp for input
if(stringvar.matches("\\d")){}

Not sure why removing a showMessageDialog would have any effect on the following code.

hi jwenting,