I have had horrible experiences with this forum, but I'm going to give it another go.

What is the point of learning C++?

I am only a beginner but what is the point?

You learn all of C++, then what... you can make a console program whopee!

I mean, when do I get to move out of the basement with this one...

What I am trying to say is, if you want to make a gui program that is not all DOS, and command prompt, then why use C++ as soon as you want to do that, you have to learn a whole other language...

I like C++. but please someone help i think i am missing something...

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

if you want to make a gui program that is not all DOS, and command prompt, then why use C++

You can say the same about any other programming language. Java for example has a GUI library, but it is not part of the language. You still have to learn the library on top of the language. It is the same with C++. The only difference is the GUI library is not packaged with the standard library.

So, if I learn C++, the the lib, I will be able to create programs like GUI auto talkers, and auto account creators and etc.

How hard is the lib? simple or complex?

It depends on the library, but GUI libraries are complex in their nature.

I feel I have a slightly different perspective on this. Yes learning C++ itself will not make you a cool GUI program, but the library routines can be called from C++. However, the libraries keep changing, that is because we have new hardware, better algorithms, different OS which to build on etc. However, the C++ itself seems to have a slower rate of evolution. That makes the knowledge of C++ much more valuable.

Second C++ becomes part of your tool base, in my field, a large amount of numerical code is C++, some older stuff in fortran, GUIs [not that many] are in well java/python/ C++ with Qt/C++ with gtkmm. Scripting languages, we have R, python , lua to name a few, but they all end up calling C++ routines.