I am very new to VB.NET. That said, I have developed a windows form that utilizes an SQL Server back end.

I am developing using Visual Studio 2008 and the 3.5 Framework. The SQL server is 2005.

I do not have any warnings or errors, and the project compiles without error. When I run the install package on another computer, everything appears to install correctly, and the shortcut is placed on the desktop. However, when opened, the cursor goes into wait mode for a few seconds then returns to normal and the form does not open.

I am using windows authentication for the SQL server, and the user of the other computer is the owner of the database I am developing for, so that person has access. I am using the following when making a connection to the SQL server:

Dim cnnSQL As New System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection(My.Settings.ConnectionString)

The settings for the Connection String are:

Data Source=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;Initial Catalog=Project1;Integrated Security=True; Timeout = 60

I receive no errors and have no clue as to why it will not run. I have verified that the other system has the 3.5 SP1 framework installed.

Any advice/assistnace to get this application deployable would be great.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I would suggest that you add a few pieces of code for Release version debugging.

In the code for the primary form, add a StreamWriter and put a bunch of writer.WriteLine("Now I'm doing this thing") lines in strategic places.

When the application launches, those lines will be written to a textfile defined in the StreamWriter. And then you can examine that file to see what's going on.

Tried your suggestion. Great advice for debugging, however, when the project was run on the other system, it did install, but does not even show the splash screen I added. Since it doesn't even load the splash screen, it does not even reach the StreamWriter code I added.

Any other thoughts?

Ok, then.