hi all,
I'm new to the linux programming first of all.

I just wrote this program.

#include <fcntl.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std ;

int main(int argc,char **argv)
{
	/* open the file */
	string _path_name = "./file";
	string _return ;
	int fd=open(_path_name.c_str() ,O_RDONLY);

/* buffer to read the file */
	char * buffer=new char [100];
	buffer[99]=0;
	int n=99;
	while (n==99)
	{
		n=read(fd,buffer,99);
		if (n<99)
		{ 
			buffer[n]=0;
		}
		/* append them to the string _return */
		_return += (char*)buffer;
	}	
	cout << _return ;
	/* close the file */
	close(fd);
	/* unallocate the memory */
	delete *buffer;
	return 0;
}

and when I create the buffer on the stack using this.

char buffer[100];

Then it won't work properly. I mean that
_return += (char*) buffer;
statement will pass the null character 0 and print the garbage things even in the
buffer. What is the wrong with that?
But when I use the `new char[100]` it works nicely and end attaching when the 0 (null character ) found.What is the reason? can anybody explain this to me?

Any idea?

--Thanks in advance--
sanudn.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm not versed in the nuances of Linux, but I do know that the integer value zero (0) is not the NULL character. The NULL character is '\0'. I suspect this is part of your problem.

Well, I just tested a similar code on my Linux machine (gcc 4.4, with only default options), and it's working properly.