Hi, i'm new to C++ and been trying to write a simple program to compare the randomly generator number with the number input. But once i got the num1 = num2; the program keep prompting for new input. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

#include <iostream>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <time.h>
using namespace std;

int main(){

char n; 
	int amt, num1, num2;
	int count;
	int tries;

srand(time(NULL));

do
	{
	//code for number generated from 0-99
	for(int i=0; i < 1; ++i){
		num2 = rand() % 100 + 1;	}
	cout<<num2 <<endl;

loop:
	//amount input
	cout << "Enter the amount $1, $2 or $5: ";
	cin >> amt; // get input
	//setting number of tries
	switch (amt){
	case 1: tries = 2;
	break;
	case 2: tries = 5;
	break;
	case 5: tries = 12;
	break;
	default: 
		cout << "Please enter $1, $2 or $5 only..." << endl; goto loop;

}
	//comparing the number
	do
	{
	for (count =0; count < tries ; ++count){

cout << "Please enter a number: ";
		cin >> num1; // get input

if	(num1 > num2)

cout << "Entered Number is higher than value, retry with a lower number" << endl;

else if  (num1 < num2)

cout << "Entered Number is lower than value, retry with a higher number" << endl;

else if (num1 == num2)
		{cout << "Congradulations, you have guess the number correctly!!" << endl; break;}

} 
	}while ( count < tries ); 

cout << "Sorry, you have exhausted all your tries..." << endl;
	//To exit or continue
	cout << "Enter 'N' or 'n' to exit, any other key to continue..";
	cin >> n;
	n = toupper(n);
	}while (n != 'N');

return 0;

}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Read up on operators and how = is a completely different beast from ==.

oh sorry about that..just realized i meant == .. edited but still can't get it to work.

You have an extraneous close brace on Line 57.

EDIT: