Hello, I'm learning Python. It is my first interpreted language. I have some experience with C and C++. I must admit that it's very hard for me to accept a concept of interpreted language. For example I write code in C++, compile it, link it and I have .exe file which I can send to my friend who doesn't have any C++ compiler or anything and it works. So I can see with my own eyes (and others as well) product and that is .exe program that can be run on different machines. On the other hand, I wrote simple programs (or scripts!?! - don't know difference) in Python, but whenever I want to see result I need to open Python shell. I simply don't have a feeling that I amde something. How to send Python program to my friend who doesn't have Python installed? Is it possible at all?
I'm sorry if this question sounds stupid to you, but I'm really confused. I know that testing and debugging is easier with intepreted language, but how to make a real program in interpreted language?

If anyone can explaine me this issue, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

The Python Shell is only used to test short Python statements. Any regular Python programs are written on the editor of one of the IDEs available.

If your friends have a Unix computer Python is most likely installed. With Windows computers you can encourage your friends to download and install Python or give them an install package on a CD, after all Python is open-source. There is also Py2Exe, a free program to that combines your file with the needed parts of the Python interpreter.

the very popular(notorious) program bittorrent is written in python. I wonder if the bittorrent windows executable used Py2Exe.