Hello everyone i'm new to this kind of things plz help me to solve this , if anyone can post the c/c++ code also i shall be thankfull to you :)

An eccentric doctor visits his patients in order of decreasing age. Patients entering the waiting list specify not only their names but also their ages. Each time the doctor wants to visit a patient, the oldest is selected and removed from the list (so children may have to wait a very long time). Write a program, based on elementary sorting techniques to sort this list on first on Age and then on Patient ID, which this doctor can use.

Before

PatientID Name Age
P102 Arif Taj Mairza 50
P203 Sadar Khan 65
P546 Afsheen Bano 34
P605 Kai Whong 45
P340 Hanah Duong 23
P391 Usman Habib 65
P200 Alina Shah 34

After
PatientID Name Age

P203 Sadar Khan 65
P391 Usman Habib 65
P102 Arif Taj Mairza 50
P605 Kai Whong 45
P200 Alina Shah 34
P546 Afsheen Bano 34
P340 Hanah Duong 23

Solve this problem by applying four different elementary sorting techniques that are

a) Selection sort
b) Bubble sort
c) Insertion sort
d) Shell sort

jonsca commented: Don't post the same thing in multiple forums of the site -1

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The easiest way to do this might be to use an array of structs, where the struct was prototyped right below the include files, with members like int ID; char name[50]; etc.

Then in main() create an array of those structs with struct student students[50] (for say, 50 students). Each field can be accessed with the dot operator -
students[0].ID, or students[2].name, for instance.

Wikipedia has an extensive page on all those kinds of sorts, and Google is always your friend, as well.

I hope you're not waiting for someone to do it for you - that (almost) never happens on this forum. We help you - but don't do it for you.

Post up your code and tell us what has you stumped. But don't wait for someone to do this for you, on this forum.