Hi,

I'm currently writing a basic program (only been using Java for 3 weeks), and am trying to locate the "index position" of the first number in a string.

For example String = "slow by 10.40s" or "fast by 1m2.2s" and want to use a method that returns me the index position of the very first integer i encounter in the string (or even better the whole number - tried using ParseDouble but obviously get a number exception).

I've attempted to write my own "method" to loop through numbers 1-9 and return the lowest index position, but realised that if it didn't find a number( ie 3 in the above examples) the lowest index position was -1.......

I guess i could examine each character in the string individually to determine if it is an integer or not, but can't believe that the "firstInt" code isn't already in a class??

Apologies if the terminology is wrong in this post, i'm still learning about classes and methods and constructors etc......

if anyone can help point me in the right direction it would be most appreciated.

Jake

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

what's wrong with getting -1 if something isn't found?
It's a non-existent index for a string, therefore easy to check for.

If you get any number greater than -1 the substring (in your case a single character) you look for exists in the target string, couldn't be easier.

If Sun were to provide every possible special case as a function of its own we'd get a complete mess of methods.
You're interested only in having a number in there, I may want that number to fall inside a given range, or maybe only want to know if a certain number occurrs more than once but less than 4 times in the input string, my colleague may want to know whether the string contains a word that in Swahili would be the phonetic spelling of a number, etc. etc.

what's wrong with getting -1 if something isn't found?
It's a non-existent index for a string, therefore easy to check for.