Hi, I am pretty new to Java. I have some basic questions.

public class Array {

private Object[] values;
   private int count;
   private boolean sorted;

public Array (int max) {

this.values = new Object[max];
   this.count = 0;
   this.sorted = true;

I am kinda confused at line 9. It looks like declaring an instance/instantiate because of the keyword new, but from what I have seen, we usually create an object in the driver/main class; we don't create it in the constructor. So is it doable? and why?

2. What is Stream IO? I know it is like input and output, but what exactly is it? What's the difference between IO.stdout.print and System.out.print?

public final class IO {
 public static PrintStream stderr = System.err;
....}

What is stderr? I looked it up but the definition is too complicated to understand.

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Member Avatar for ztini

I am kinda confused at line 9. It looks like declaring an instance/instantiate because of the keyword new, but from what I have seen, we usually create an object in the driver/main class; we don't create it in the constructor. So is it doable? and why?

At line 9, you are creating a new values object which is contained in the Array object you instantiated at the static main method. So yes, you are correct; normally you do create an object in the main method. However, the beauty of OOP is that objects can contain other objects, as seen at the constructor. Also, you can create objects outside the constructor.

For instance, you can change the code like this:

public class Array {

private Object[] values;
   private int count = 0;
   private boolean sorted = true;

public Array (int max) {
   this.sorted = true;
}

PrintStream is used to write data to a file or other source. System.out is for the compiler console (e.g. testing environment).