Hello everyone! I'm just a beginner in vb.net. I need to make a save button. The user will work in main form. User also has Settings in the MenuStrip, when the user clicks Settings a new form will open. There user has ability to make changes that will affect the Main form. This is the code:

If CheckBox1.Checked = True Then
            bib.Panel2.Hide()
        End If

This is the change that the user will be able to do that will affect the Main form, but I'm not really sure how to make that the CheckBox1 will be saved when the user clicks it and the clicks OK button. I also want to know how to make a cancel button. If you know how, help me please.
Thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi.
to save the settings that the user has made on the form just add this code to your main page.

My.Settings.Save()

This will ensure that all changes are saved and the user can exit and reurn to the program and find the changes they had previously made.

you could use this code on the cancel button

My.settings.reset()

This will put back all the default settings on the forms.
Hope this has helped you in some way.

What do you mean by "main page"?
I inserted the "My.Settings.Save()" in the save button but it doesn't work!
What's going on?

I'll agree with the settings approach, but it will take a bit more than that.
Start by going to your project properties, select the settings tab and create a new setting, naming it hide_panel for now

Go the "Settings" form and use this code

my.settings.hide_panel = "True" 
my.settings.save()
End If

Then on your main form put this in the form load sub

if my.settings.hide_panel.tostring = "True"  then 
Panel2.Hide()
end if

What is for MenuStrip use for in your problem... is it having setting...

Check out this thread.

Thanks for your help but since I'm new in vb.net I got lost very quickly after reading your post.

So in my Solution Explorer I clicked on "My Project".