Dear All,

I am new to VB2010 and writing a MDI child form to open another form as dialogbox, then pass a value back to the MDI child form, the value is successfully passed back to the MDI child form but it can't be shown on a text box, my code as below, can somebody help on this

(on mdiForm1)

Private Sub btnNew_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnNew.Click
Dim F As New Form
F = Form2
F.ShowDialog()
End Sub

Public Sub setText(ByVal nsc As String)
MessageBox.Show(nsc) 'it shows the correct value on screen
txtStaffCode.Text = nsc
End Sub

(on Form2)

Private Sub btnOK_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnOK.Click
Dim nsc As String = lblNewCode.Text
Call mdiForm1.setText(nsc)
Me.Close()
End Sub

Recommended Answers

All 21 Replies

you can use that code

lblNewCode.Text = mdiForm1.txtStaffCode.Text

Thanks for your reply, Fa3hed!
Sorry that I have confused, should I put your code on Form2? But I need to pass the value from Form2 to the mdiForm1. And I also test the code below on mdiForm1, but not work neither.

Me.txtStaffCode.Text = Form2.lblNewCode.Text

attach your project

here is my project

the mdi form name is "frmAdminMainMenu"
the value will be passed back from "frmAddNewStaffCode"

Suppose you are having two forms example..form1 and form2 both contain textbox...
abd you want to pass values from textbox of form1 to textbox of form2
You have to First Of All have to load Form2 and should enter following code...

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
              Form2.Show()
        Form2.TextBox1.Text = Me.TextBox1.Text
    End Sub

Similarly you can do for MDI form

the solution doesn't work because i am using vb 2008

@Fa3hed : Sorry,not getting you.......

you made your project in vb2010 i am using vb2008

Suppose you are having two forms example..form1 and form2 both contain textbox...