I'm a newbie in vb. My first project is a grading system for a certain school. In my login form, there's a Forgot Password button. In the Forgot Password form, the user is asked to answer a secret question that he filled up upon registration, and if the answer is correct it will lead him to a Change Password form. My problem is, I don't know how to get then delete and then replace the password of a certain user. I attached some screen shots of my work. Please someone help me.. Thank you..

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

You can do like this if user gives correct answer of that secret question you can show a message box saying your password is....

or you can use following code but in place of old password use the result of your secret answer...

Private Sub btnSave_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnSave.Click
        If txtNew.TextLength < 5 Then
            MsgBox("The New Password Should be of Atleast 5 Characters")
            txtNew.Text = ""
            txtRe.Text = ""
        ElseIf txtOld.Text = txtNew.Text Then
            MsgBox("The New Password is Same As Old Password")
            txtNew.Text = ""
            txtNew.Focus()
        ElseIf (txtNew.Text = txtRe.Text) Then

Try
                Dim con As New SqlConnection("Data Source=XXXX-578AC20261\SQLEXPRESS;Initial Catalog=TT;Integrated Security=True")
                Dim ds1 As New DataSet

Dim da1 As New SqlDataAdapter("select * from Login where UserName='" & Trim(txtUserName.Text) & "'and Password='" & Trim(txtOld.Text) & "'", con)

If da1.Fill(ds1) Then

Dim ra As Integer
                    Dim cb As SqlClient.SqlCommand
                    con.Open()
                    cb = New SqlClient.SqlCommand("Update Login Set password='" + txtNew.Text + "' where UserName='" + txtUserName.Text + "'", con)
                    ra = cb.ExecuteNonQuery()
                    MessageBox.Show("Password Changed Successfully,Now Login into System")