I dont know if im posting on the right forum but I was wondering if you guys can help me pick out training material for VB.NET.
After struggling with an application, I think I need to expand my knowledge on VB.NET and SQL. Whats a good tutorial or textbook for VB.NET? I have some knowledge on VB from school but I studied system design so need something thats not too basic but basic enough.
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

My company assigned me the task of building software capable of training hundreds of individuals on hundreds of different items, building reports to show progress, and having sections for both users and administrators. The tools available to me were Visual Studio 2008 and SQL Server 2008. Previous programming experience was one class in college, 5 years earlier, in C++.

It took me about 8 months, but between Google, MSDN Libraries, and this forum, I was able to learn everything I needed. I will admit that in the beginning the code was sloppy and not the most efficient, and may not be professional grade now, but it works. And it works pretty well. There are very few issues with the software. It has been in full service for about 4 months now, and I spend less than 4 hours a week working on it, if at all.

It sucks, and it is very difficult, but if you teach yourself all of this stuff the hard way, you will not just learn it, but understand it. Start by building software for your home use. You'll get it if you want to.

Good luck.

commented: MSDN library... +1

I dont know if im posting on the right forum but I was wondering if you guys can help me pick out training material for VB.NET.
After struggling with an application, I think I need to expand my knowledge on VB.NET and SQL. Whats a good tutorial or textbook for VB.NET? I have some knowledge on VB from school but I studied system design so need something thats not too basic but basic enough.
Thanks.