Hi ,
In the next month i will be involved in java project that deal with the changes of code that depends on some upgraded version .
I am a student so i have never seen before upgrade code ,I really want to understand how the upgrade work , what are the changes for example? which are the problems that upgrade deal with?

Maybe one simple thing that i know about upgrading versions will help to explain my question,
for example :
at the previous version :

void foo( int num );

at the new version the same function but :

void foo(int num1, int num2 );

so , at the code that depends on this software any where there is call function

foo(/*some number*/)

, now we will need to send two numbers

foo(/*some number*/ ,/*some number*/);

I will appreciate any answer ,and will be happy to expand my understanding .

Thanks ,
Rivka :)

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

I am not able to understand your problem perfectly.See as and when versions are upgraded new facilities are added. I think you are saying first the method foo() was taking 1 argument and now 2 arguments but from Java 5 i.e. Tiger if you are not sure that a method will take how many arguments you should go for variable-argument list i.e. varargs . So you can write your method like this

void foo(int...no){//code}

Now you can call this method like this

foo(5);

OR

foo(10,20,55);

That is you can pass any number of arguments to the method.This facility was not available in Java 2.

Thanks for response , I think i didn't made it clearly.
I will explain my question ..

let's say that I have version X , and a code that use this version we will call it A.
And then Our version X was upgraded to version "X+1" .
this process of upgrading includes some changes like add arguments to function , changing kine of arguments ,I believe there is many more things that change , that what i will want to know from you ...

when we know what are the changes , we can go to the code A and change the code to fit the version "X+1".